Yu-Idiots!

Rules coming out of the rumor mill!
by Nike Young

from Gameshow

    You don't know how many rules are made up by novice players.  I don't know if these players just wish so much that something given to all players could be kept in check because they lose out to them, or they believe the T. V. and video game versions so much that they believe that the rules are this way.  So, as a service, I've come to dispel these Rumor Mill Rules.

(Note:  I e-mailed Upper Deck with these, and they have double-checked me.)

(Note:  Also, these corrections don't undo any rule in the rulebook or statement on cards.  I say special summoned monsters can attack their first turn.  This is assuming that no other rule is active that might change this.  If the monster is special summoned in defense mode, the monster obviously cannot attack.)

 

RMR#1:  Special summoned monsters can't attack their first turn.

Wrong.  This "rule" was never played by in Yu-Gi-Oh games or T. V., but you'll be surprised how many people play by it.

RMR#2:  Special summoned monsters cannot be affected by various cards.

Another wrong "rule".  The only cards that special summoned monsters cannot be affected by are those that specifically state as such (like Trap Hole).  Aside from those, the special summon can be affected by everything else.

RMR#3:  Special summoned monsters cannot be offered as tribute (in a tribute summon or by some other way) the turn it was played.

Another "rule" involving special summons.  A special summoned monster is still a monster that can be offered just like any other monster.  There are exceptions, though (Scapegoat's Monster tokens, for example)

RMR#4:  A monster face-down must be flip summoned before it can be offered as tribute.

RMR#5:  A monster that is offered as tribute face-down has it's flip effect activated.

Nope, this is another "rule" that made it up there.  You do not need to flip summon a monster before offering it as tribute. Also, a monster that is sacrificed face-down doesn't have it's flip effect activate.  It just goes to the graveyard.

RMR#6:  You can equip a face-down monster with an equip card.

Says right in the rulebook that the monster needs to be face-up.  If you need to re-read, click here.

RMR#7:  You can play counter traps directly from your hand.

ANY and ALL trap cards have to be set for one turn before they can be used.  Counter traps are NOT exceptions.

RMR#8:  Fusion monsters cannot attack the turn they are summoned.

I never saw that "rule".  It might be in the T. V. show, but I remind you that the T. V. show game and the real-world game are two different games.

RMR#9:  You can play quick-play magic cards from your hand on the other person's turn.

Nope, the card must be set to be used on your opponent's turn, just like almost every other card you can activate on your opponent's turn.  However, you may play them from your hand on YOUR turn.

RMR#10:  If you have too many monsters/magic and trap cards in play, you may destroy one of them to play/set another one.  You can "kill" magic or trap cards in play to set/play other cards.  You can activate equip magic cards you can't use just to destroy them to free up magic and trap card slots.  If you have too many monsters in play, you may destroy one of them to play/set another one.

No, this "rule" was perpetuated by the video games.  When you hit the max number of slots in a zone, you cannot play any more cards in that zone.  You can't just remove a card from the field because those zones are full.  An effect must take place to remove a Magic/Trap/Monster card from the field.  You can't activate a Magic or Trap card to "waste it".

RMR#11:  If you redirect an opponent's equip card (Snatch Steal), the "you" on the card becomes you.

No, the "you" on the opponent's card still refers to your opponent.

RMR#12:  Any monster that says, "this card can only be summoned by..." can be summoned normally.

No, the statement on the card is the ONLY way you can summon that monster.  It says on U.D.s FAQ.

RMR#13:  If a player runs out of cards in his/her hand, s/he must/may draw five new cards (either when it happens, or at the beginning of her next turn.)

No way, this "rule" came from people wanting more cards.  Well, it doesn't happen.  You only get one card per turn.  You can only draw other cards via Magic, Trap, or Effect Monsters.

RMR#14:  Cards like Acid Trap Hole (which flips a face-down monster face-up, and if it's DEF is too low, destroys it), do not activate flip effects, since it is a faster card.

The card does activate flip effects, since it doesn't directly state that the flip effects are not activated.  Of course, if the monster needs to survive to activate the effect,(Invader of the Throne, Parasite Paracide, etc.) then the effect is stopped.  Also, the monster cannot target itself since it is destined for the graveyard.  The point that it is a 'faster' card is meaningless.

RMR#15:  You must set magic cards before using.  You may play traps directly from your hand.

This dyslexic "rule" came from nowhere.  The cards are mixed up.